Front Page

Content

Authors

Game Index

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

You May Also Like...

B
boardgameinquisition
September 24, 2020
W
whowhatwhycast
September 23, 2020
O
oliverkinne
September 18, 2020
B
boardgameinquisition
September 17, 2020
W
whowhatwhycast
September 16, 2020
G
GrantLyon
September 13, 2020
T
TabletopIsland
September 12, 2020
B
boardgameinquisition
September 10, 2020
W
whowhatwhycast
September 09, 2020

Sit, Cooper, Sit. Good Island.

Podcasts & Videos
G
GrantLyon
September 07, 2020
B
boardgameinquisition
September 03, 2020
W
whowhatwhycast
September 01, 2020
G
GrantLyon
August 31, 2020
B
boardgamebarrage
August 30, 2020

Vintage Board Game Review: Masterpiece (1996)

T Updated
Vintage Board Game Review: Masterpiece (1996)

Podcast/Video Details

Channel Name

Game Information

Game Name
Players
3 - 6
There Will Be Games

A game where you auction off and steal paintings to earn the most money?!

Masterpiece board game review

There Will Be Games

Bernardo Rodriguez
Associate Content Creator

Bernardo is Puerto Rican, but was born in Germany (Dad was in the military). He is a professional magician who has created magic effects for magicians all around the world, as well as a multimedia production professional who worked for a few years for some pretty awesome companies (Adidas, GK Elite, etc.) (Adidas, GK Elite, etc.). Although he now works at a bank, he continues to exercise his multimedia skills and creativity to create outrageous reviews and parody commercials for board games on Tabletop Island.

Articles by Bernardo Rodriguez

Log in to comment

ubarose's Avatar
ubarose replied the topic: #313790 05 Sep 2020 11:19
I loved this game as a kid. I actually played it again several years ago, and it held up pretty well. It’s a good game.

It also reminded me that as a kid, we played games like this all by ourselves, with other kids our own age. We read the instructions ourselves, learned them, taught younger kids who didn’t read as well, and played together. I still feel strongly that parents should have games like that on their shelves. Ones that you can just hand over, still in shrink, to your kid and say go have fun.
Brewmiester's Avatar
Brewmiester replied the topic: #313798 05 Sep 2020 15:05
My one sister is a little more than a year younger than me, my brother followed a year and a few months later and my second sister a year and a few months more. We played a fair amount of Masterpiece growing up. And our older cousins copy of Hit the Beach when we stayed at our aunt and uncle's house.
Shellhead's Avatar
Shellhead replied the topic: #313800 05 Sep 2020 16:39
My family had Masterpiece when I was a kid, and maybe my sister still has it. We played some, but it didn't really connect with our family as well as some of the other classics, like Sorry, Stratego, Aggravation, or Clue. Plus my dad was always trying to get us to play Acquire.

Last year, a couple in the hipster board game group brought Masterpiece, and it went over well. Acquiring a painting and discovering its true value is fun, and selling a forgery to someone else is even more fun.
TabletopIsland's Avatar
TabletopIsland replied the topic: #314042 13 Sep 2020 00:32
I completely agree! I think easy to learn games for children to explore on their own is important :D
Sagrilarus's Avatar
Sagrilarus replied the topic: #314048 13 Sep 2020 19:09
I’m trying to decide which host I like more, the old long-haired guy or this new one?

I missed this game somehow, in spite of having it all around me as a kid. And it was heavily advertised as well. You made it look a lot of fun, so I may grab it the next time I see it at the thrift store. My family has had a great time playing the original version of The Game of Life which also allows players to stick each other. It has made for a larger than life play.

I’d like to see that remarkably handsome guy in the author photo take a shot at one of these reviews too.