October 09, 2023
2291 0
O
oliverkinne
October 06, 2023
2508 0

Outback Crossing Review

Board Game Reviews
Bugs: Recent Topics Paging, Uploading Images & Preview (11 Dec 2020)

Recent Topics paging, uploading images and preview bugs require a patch which has not yet been released.

× Talk about collectible card here.

JumpStart: Magic for board-gamers, newbies, and kids

More
16 Jan 2021 14:52 - 16 Jan 2021 16:01 #318080 by dragonstout
I know I used to rant about Magic all the time here, years ago, but it occurred to me that some of the people around here who used to not be interested in Magic should know about this new thing before it becomes impossible to come by again.

Brief preamble: I've been playing Magic since 1994, but I care very very much about how new players interface with Magic in part because I've been running a Magic club for five years at the high school I work at. The club is a huge success, with great representation from popular kids, nerdy kids, jocks, shy kids, outgoing kids, boys, girls, nonbinary and trans kids, all getting to know each other and make friends they never would have otherwise made. I have taught HUNDREDS of kids to play Magic in the last few years, including plenty of people who've never played a single hobby game. This is in part thanks to my ruling it with an iron fist to make sure it stays inclusive and low-priced; there's a hard limit on how much they can spend for the club of $5 a month (and I just pay out of my pocket for the kids who can't afford that).

Last year, Wizards released by far the best product for new players ever made (even including unofficial products) JumpStart.

The simple idea is: each booster pack has an entire 20-card half-deck built around a theme. You mash together two decks, a la Smash Up, and voila, you have a deck!