Front Page

Content

Authors

Game Index

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

You May Also Like...

O
oliverkinne
August 01, 2022

Scout Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
July 29, 2022
T
thegiantbrain
July 25, 2022

The Split - Review

Board Game Reviews
W
WadeMonnig
July 20, 2022
T
thegiantbrain
July 14, 2022
A
adamr
July 13, 2022
W
WadeMonnig
July 06, 2022
MD
Marty D
July 04, 2022

The Chronicles Of Avel Review

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
July 01, 2022

Nemesis Review

Board Game Reviews

The Sietch on the Borderlands- Arrakis: Dawn of the Fremen Review

MB Updated July 14, 2022
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
2687 0
The Sietch on the Borderlands- Arrakis: Dawn of the Fremen Review
There Will Be Games

Brother, can you spare a worm tooth?

In 1982 EON (the groundbreaking design team of Olotka, Kitteredge, and Eberle) released Borderlands, a “game of the barbaric future” that found players locked in an intensely interactive, Diplomacy-inspired struggle across a post-apocalyptic wasteland. It was a brilliant game– yet the game never seemed to reach the popularity or uptake of their previous designs, Cosmic Encounter and Dune. There was a pretty decent computer game implementation of it in the 80s called Lords of Conquest and Fantasy Flight for whatever reason decided to slap an unappealing steampunk motif on it for a 2013 redevelopment called Gearworld, but the real legacy of this game has been in its ahead-of-its-time streamlining, the resource production, and development methods that echo in games like Catan and Scythe. Now, here in 2020, EON is giving the design another go with Jack Reda and Greg Olotka on the design team and Gale Force 9 presenting Arrakis: Dawn of the Fremen.

And, as someone who once made a print and play copy of the original game, I can tell you that not only is this game still compelling, vital, and singular, it also feels like it has effectively arrived as a worthy successor to Dune. Set during the early history of Arrakis, when Fremen tribes were first settling the sands, this game exhibits once again these designers’ understanding and mastery of Dune’s concepts and themes. I was thrilled when the game was announced as a “new” Dune game from this team, but I was actually even more excited to discover that it was a revision of Borderlands.

The old adage “they don’t make ‘em like this anymore” applies here. This is not a game of solitary tableau building and passive-aggressive drafting. There are no catch-up mechanisms and you don’t get victory points just because you followed the rules. There are no tracks or meters, there aren’t even any of EON’s signature special powers. It is rather a game where everything is on the map- every resource, unit, and element of the game is visible and available for analysis. It is also a game where you absolutely must negotiate, barter, wheedle, intimidate, and cajole. So due warning for those adverse to direct competition and treachery.

Beginning with the Harj (the initial setup phase), the board is seeded with four resources (water, food, worm teeth, and of course spice) at specific sites, randomly assigned. Players also fill the board’s territories with their Tribesmen and women (with multiple skintones represented) and place rock barriers between territories to protect strategically vital assets.  Development tokens such as Worms, Stillsuits, and Crysknives can be purchased to increase mobility and combat strength and there are Scavenge cards that may be picked up that could introduce things like Maula Pistols and Ornithopters in the game.  It takes 90 minutes on the short end, but can definitely go much longer as it shares with Dune a sort of volatility in terms of how it plays out, especially if players are really digging into the negotiation element. The primary win condition is for a player to control three Sietchs (which are built with one of each resource or four spice), but alliance victories between players are possible as is a “Council Vote” win when players determine that one amongst them has an unbeatable position.

Conflict is deterministic. An attacking player places a marker in the region they wish to try to seize from another tribe. Both the attacker and defender may call for aid from adjacent territories with promises of trades, future support, or whatever as potential leverage. Once the numbers shake down, the victor is determined. Because the Fremen have a highly structured, formal society based on their mutual heritage, if you defeat someone in combat you owe them a Water Debt, which they may use later to block attacks should you wish to continue hostilities or to exchange into resources.

Now, where this game gets really interesting is in how the resources and development tokens work. Everything is on the board at all times, players do not have personal holdings. This means that in order to build a Crysknife in the Western Sands, you have to have either two spice or a water and a worm tooth in the Western Sands. And of course, there is not necessarily a way to generate those resources in the Western Sands so you have to transport those resources there by moving them with your units (and taking advantage of formal alliances to move through allied territories) or trading with others to accomplish the goal. And then, that Crysknife is on the board and can be moved around to strategically support attacks or defenses. This all adds a level of depth to gathering resources and working out the logistics – but with some players, it can also grind things to a halt.

It’s almost a no-luck game, but there are a couple of key elements where die rolls and card draws come into play. One is the Scavenge deck, which are cards that sometimes provide a little surprise in combat, give a resource boost, or put a development token such as a Jubba Cloak or Ornithopter on the board. I like the cards a lot even if they very much feel like a sort of “bolted on” addition. They add a lot of Dune flavor, which I can never get enough of, and they provide just a little unpredictability and drama. I also really like that they are mostly tradeable- they can be a key element in brokering a deal.

Another random factor is in the Production phase, where a D12 roll controls whether or not production sites bear fruit (or spice, as the case may be). Players have a Thumper token with a full moon and crescent moon side, and you kind of place a bet on what you think the die roll will be and the result determines what produces and if your Thumper was successful in calling a Worm, which is a development token that you place on the board and your Fremen can ride it while transporting goods. Likewise, the Trade and Shipment Phase is also metered by the die and this creates shortages and surplus while also possibly barring a player from trading their way into a Sietch for the turn.  There are also die results that call for players to vote on whether the phase happens or for the lead player to decide, both of which can make for some interesting discussions.

08532324 7769 4AF0 99B2 F266D4456B2B

This whole logistics angle is, for me, the crux of what makes the design so compelling. Players are forced into cooperation while they are also locked in very direct competition for territory, resources, shipping rights, and development tokens and there is very little to hide your intentions behind. This whole Catan-like resource production and development scheme is supported by an equally intriguing system driving above-the-board, para-mechanical interactions between players. Like in Cosmic, alliances of convenience are always in play virtually every turn and like in Dune, formal alliances (which must be – get this- approved unanimously during the Council phase) change the win conditions but provide significant benefits.

With that said, this is to my mind a four player game, period.  Most of the games I’ve played so far have been three players and they’ve been fun and engaging, but the absence of a fourth seat can be felt. Likewise, a two player game is totally possible (described by Olotka as more of a “chess match”) but I feel like it’s just not where the game is at its best because its greatness rests in the interactions and how players leverage those interactions to engage with the mechanisms. Truth be told, I probably wouldn’t ever turn down a two or three player game because I’m just happy to get this great game to the table whenever I can.

Arrakis: Dawn of the Fremen is a 40-year-old design freshened up for a modern audience with the Dune livery respectfully and vividly applied – it totally feels like a Dune game, and it almost seems like it was always meant to be a game about the Fremen establishing themselves on Arrakis. It is also a very different game than their previous Dune, and it is a much more formalistic and structured game than Cosmic. Yet I do think that it remains the least accessible of this trio, especially for more recent generations of game players who, quite frankly, might not be accustomed to or inclined to play games that are treacherous, stabby, and extremely interactive like it is. But for those that are, this is one of the best reprints in some time, a forgotten classic that has always deserved a higher profile.

Photos

The Sietch on the Borderlands- Arrakis: Dawn of the Fremen Review

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Rating 
 
5.0
Arrakis: Dawn of the Fremen
Another EON masterpiece, but one that has been relatively unsung.
MB
Top 10 Reviewer 137 reviews
Michael Barnes (He/Him)
Senior Board Game Reviews Editor

Sometime in the early 1980s, MichaelBarnes’ parents thought it would be a good idea to buy him a board game to keep him busy with some friends during one of those high-pressure, “free” timeshare vacations. It turned out to be a terrible idea, because the game was TSR’s Dungeon! - and the rest, as they say, is history. Michael has been involved with writing professionally about games since 2002, when he busked for store credit writing for Boulder Games’ newsletter. He has written for a number of international hobby gaming periodicals and popular Web sites. From 2004-2008, he was the co-owner of Atlanta Game Factory, a brick-and-mortar retail store. He is currently the co-founder of FortressAT.com and Nohighscores.com as well as the Editor-in-Chief of Miniature Market’s Review Corner feature. He is married with two childen and when he’s not playing some kind of game he enjoys stockpiling trivial information about music, comics and film.

Articles by Michael

Michael Barnes
Senior Board Game Reviews Editor

Articles by Michael

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Log in to comment

hotseatgames's Avatar
hotseatgames replied the topic: #334240 14 Jul 2022 16:30
Great review! I'm interested in this one. Sadly, I can't even remember the last time I actually got 4 players to the table.
Jackwraith's Avatar
Jackwraith replied the topic: #334243 14 Jul 2022 18:35
Agreed. Solid work on this one. I never played the original Borderlands, so it's intriguing. However, I also know that it would be a difficult sell to most of my regular groups. I've managed to get them to play mild negotiation games like Rising Sun and have pushed the idea forward in sessions of Oath, but there's been some friction when I try to take it past that. Our one attempt at New Angeles didn't go well, for example. (I still have it because I love the setting and like the game.) So, I'm tempted but think I'll stay in the sietch for a while on this one. Don't need anything new on the shelf these days, anyway.
charlest's Avatar
charlest replied the topic: #334244 14 Jul 2022 18:58
Still need to get a few plays of this in and review it myself. Other stuff blocking it at the moment but I'm glad to hear you enjoyed it so much.
Michael Barnes's Avatar
Michael Barnes replied the topic: #334246 14 Jul 2022 19:47
Yeah, I hear y’all- this is not an easy game to table. It’s not overly complicated or excessively long but it actually kind of requires a different skill set than most modern designs. But it is coming into a space where it is going up against stuff like rising Sun as Jackwraith mentioned and those other Eric Lang area control games. It’s so interactive and everything is so codependent on shared space and mutual agreements, someone coming to this even from recent area control games might be shocked at how much you’ve got to -talk- in this game.

It really is a “playable” Diplomacy in a lot of ways, but it’s not hot garbage like that influential but awful game is. It’s also close to Catan in ways, I’ve heard Teuber didn’t know the design but there is a clear through line…and given that Catan is now out of favor somehow…

But I do think EON disciples, Duneaholics, and those interested in mechanisms other than drafting and action selection will find much of interest.
WadeMonnig's Avatar
WadeMonnig replied the topic: #334279 15 Jul 2022 19:53
Dune has hit peak Star Wars where I can't keep track of which game is which.
Mantuanwar's Avatar
Mantuanwar replied the topic: #334328 19 Jul 2022 12:06
You have totally sold it to me Michael. Never owned Borderlands or played it, though aware of it in the 80s when I got into Dune and Cosmic Encounter. Got a little interested when Gearworld came out, but the theme did nothing for me.
Now I find myself a sucker for all things Dune, and my enthusiasm and admiration for all things EON is also riding high. Their influence on a wide spread of games post-1977 is incalculable. So I am in!