Front Page

Content

Authors

Game Index

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

You May Also Like...

O
oliverkinne
December 03, 2021

Rebis Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
November 29, 2021
O
oliverkinne
November 26, 2021

Lunar Base Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
A
adamr
November 24, 2021
O
oliverkinne
November 22, 2021

Tharos Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
MB
Michael Barnes
November 15, 2021
MB
Michael Barnes
November 08, 2021
O
oliverkinne
November 05, 2021

Doom Machine Review

Board Game Reviews
D
DavidNorris
November 04, 2021
MB
Michael Barnes
October 29, 2021
D
DavidNorris
October 28, 2021
T
thegiantbrain
October 27, 2021
O
oliverkinne
October 22, 2021
D
DavidNorris
October 21, 2021
MB
Michael Barnes
October 20, 2021
Hot
D
DavidNorris
October 14, 2021

K2 Review - Digital Eyes

O Updated September 25, 2021
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
813 0
(Photo courtesy of Rebel Studio)

Game Information

Game Name
Publisher
Designer
Players
1 - 5
There Will Be Games

Being halfway up the mountain, in bad weather, the time when we were still acclimatizing at base camp felt like an eternity ago. I knew that "Squiggle" was ahead of me and had erected their tent, but I had to save mine for nearer the top, where we needed the shelter more urgently. I could only imagine the relative comfort my fellow climber was in, while I was hunkered down behind a small collection of rocks to take the brunt of the storm. I kept thinking how dangerous it was, but I also kept reminding myself of the ultimate goal: reaching the summit of K2.

The game is relatively old now, but it's probably the most exciting and thematic game I've ever played. The concept is pretty simple: try and get your two mountain climbers as high up the K2 mountain as possible, without dying. K2 is the second-highest mountain on Earth, or so the game tells us, and also the second deadliest. So, keeping your climbers alive plays a huge part in this game and is what makes it so engrossing for me.

The higher your climbers get, the more points they are worth and the player with the highest combined point score wins. It is fine and actually often desirable to bring at least one of your climbers back down from the summit. They won't lose the points they have gained when they descend, but they will have a much better chance of survival. What you don't want, is for one, or even both, of your climbers to die, because then they lose all their points, except one, meaning you're highly unlikely to win the game.

Saying that, even though K2 is a race game at its heart, it's also all very relative. After all, if an opponent reaches the summit, but subsequently dies, there is less incentive for the other players to go all out and push for the peak. It might be enough to get their two climbers just high enough, higher than the other players', to guarantee them the win.

K2 is also a lot about timing. The game ends after a set number of rounds, so if you time it right, you can make the push for the summit right at the end and don't have to worry too much if your climber has hardly any energy left. If they get there right at the end, then they only need to survive that turn, which is very doable.

The problem is, the higher you go up the mountain, the less room there is for climbers. The summit only has room for one climber, unless you play with five players, so if you're too late and another player blocks the top spot, then you will never get there. At the same time, hogging the peak is no mean feat. It requires a lot of energy and oxygen and chances are that the weather is worse near the top - even though that's not always the case.

In fact, the weather is another factor that influences the timing of your ascent. You can always look a few rounds ahead to see what the weather will do. Sometimes, the weather is terrible at base camp, but absolutely wonderful and sunny higher up. So you may be better off pushing for the summit earlier to take advantage of the pleasant weather or at least avoiding the storm that's brewing further down.

There is another element in K2 that has to do with timing. Every player has a deck of cards, which is the same for everyone. The cards define how far you can climb or descend or they are there to replenish the energy of your climbers. Each round, players choose three cards in secret. Once everyone has chosen, the cards are revealed and the player with the highest movement might get an energy penality that they have to either deduct from a climber's health or by foregoing movement.

That in itself adds a wonderful facet to the gameplay. You have to try and gauge what other players might do. You have to decide whether to go all out and try to go higher and potentially block the route for other players or whether to hold back and wait, increasing your climbers' health first. Later in the game, this mechanism adds a lot of tension and excitement, because there is more pressure to either get your climbers to safety, if you're in the lead, or to try and catch up at all costs.

However, with regards to timing, your deck of cards consists of 18 cards, you draw 6 into your hand and choose 3 in secret per round. The chosen cards are put into a discard pile and you draw another 3 cards to have a hand of 6. When your draw deck runs out, your discard gets shuffled and becomes a new draw deck.

So, ideally, you need to look 6 rounds ahead, because you choose 3 cards from the deck of 18 each round. You need to try and plan what you want to do and consider what other players might want to do. You also need to look at the upcoming weather. That's all fine to start with, but of course, as you have fewer and fewer cards in your draw deck, the situation will be different to what you had planned and the cards you now need you have already played, or they're still in the draw deck and you just have bad luck and don't get them into your hand when you need them. Suddenly, all you can do is make the best out of a bad situation.

At the same time, your climbers will lose energy, depending on how high up the mountain they are, if they're in a tent, as well as the weather and maybe the penalty token you had to take. So you need to play cards that replenish that energy or move the climber down the mountain to regain some health. You hope that your next card draw is what you need and you curse loudly and emphatically when your luck runs out or you realize that the perfect card you need is in your discard pile.

It gets even tenser when your climbers get near the top. Blocking doesn't just work for going up the mountain, but also on your descent. So if you want to get one of your climbers down from the summit to the safety of a tent that was pitched earlier, but there are four other climbers below you, blocking your route, then all you can do is hope for enough movement value to get past them. Otherwise, your climber will be stuck there at the top and slowly freeze to death.

That feeling of dread and hopelessness is actually really palpable when you play K2. You pray for good cards and better weather, you hope that your climber can survive just one more round, because next round things will just be better. You really feel the cold, the wind, the tiredness and the desperate situation, but eventually, your hopes are brutally dashed and the reality is that your climber didn't make it and their score of 10 is reduced to a single point.

I've seen games where a player would send their second climber to the top, just out of respect for their teammate who didn't make it. They knew they couldn't win the game now, but they made the ascend anyway, maybe secretly thinking that they could block other climbers and expose them to the same hopeless situation that their teammate had faced.

So, yes, there is actually a lot of player interaction in K2 and players may intentionally block each other for their own benefit. The strong camaraderie in the game only extends between the two climbers that a player controls - not between climbers from different players. It's every team for themselves and help nobody else.

Let me finish by saying that I have only ever played K2 online, so I can't comment on component quality or how it feels playing a physical copy. I do think though that the emotions that the game evokes come from the player interaction, the card draws and trying to time everything perfectly. I doubt that component quality will make a huge amount of difference to the excitement, despair and other feelings you will experience when playing this amazing race game.


Editor reviews

1 reviews

Rating 
 
4.0
K2
O
Oliver Kinne
Oliver Kinne (He/Him)
Associate Writer

Oliver Kinne aims to publish two new articles every week on his blog, Tabletop Games Blog, and also release both in podcast form. He reviews board games and writes about tabletop games related topics.

Oliver is also the co-host of the Tabletop Inquisition podcast, which releases a new episode every three to four weeks and tackles different issues facing board games, the people who play them and maybe their industry.

Articles by Oliver Kinne

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Log in to comment

Sagrilarus's Avatar
Sagrilarus replied the topic: #327223 15 Oct 2021 11:39
So is the element of luck limited to the cards you draw from a short deck? The weather sounds luckish, but would apply to everyone evenly.

This sounds like an interesting game but it also sounds like one of those games where the design is intended to give everyone the exact same resources so that there's a real matching-of-wits aspect to it, and I've kinda come to dislike those game. They feel constricting.

But I've never seen the game, real or virtual. There may be aspects that rattle around enough to give me the feeling that I'm having to think on my feet to deal with what's been dealt to me.
mezike's Avatar
mezike replied the topic: #327229 15 Oct 2021 13:13
I enjoy K2 quite a bit with the caveat that summer weather on the summer climb should be avoided as it makes the ascent too simple and the game boils down to the blocking tactics that Oliver mentions. The result is often pretty sour for someone at the table and isn’t very challenging to play. Using at least one and preferably both winter elements makes it a much more challenging climb and puts more onus on good decision making and careful timing of when to make a risky ascent and when to move back to a safer rest point. There is a good amount of agency for sure, it’s fun and has dramatic moments, but the lack of cloth trading or zombie slaying makes it a hard sell on gaming nights.

Ultimately though I feel that the Broad Peak expansion is the best way to enjoy this game, the pinnacle if you will excuse the pun, as it has multiple peaks to scale and encourages you to both traverse the board and to make a start on a descent; something that is notably absent from the base game where I suppose the assumption is that everyone simply dies whilst stuck at the top of the mountain after the timer runs out? The three peaks negates the value of any blocking tactics which I think is great as it feels like a conspicuously gamey element, however you can still slow down and frustrate your opponents by dallying in certain places without completely wrecking their game.

L’Hotse does something different again with three climbing routes each with their own weather patterns, a setup which benefits from having multiple players creating crossing routes.
DarthJoJo's Avatar
DarthJoJo replied the topic: #327266 17 Oct 2021 21:05
I played Broad Peak for the first time this weekend and have to agree with mezike: this is the best incarnation of the K2. I’ve enjoyed multiple sessions with the base game but more as an experience than a competition. There’s risk and stress hoping you can draw a rope to get below that weather, but the very basic, open scoring makes calculations too simple. If someone loses a climber early, it’s trivially easy to figure the minimum height you need to climb to confirm the win and then spend the rest of the night sipping hot chocolate at base camp.

Broad Peak cracks that wide open with multiple scoring avenues. Even though I lost a climber early, I still had a chance to steal the win if I could hit every peak and traverse the mountain. I didn’t. He also froze to death two turns before game end, but I had a chance.

K2 was always fun, but Broad Peak makes it competitive.

Regarding luck, Sag, the maximum score in K2 is twenty, each of your two climbers able to score no more than ten points. Based on which weather set you use and which side of the mountain you climb, scores should probably range from ten to maximum. However, it is a fight for a climber to score more than six. The end scores may only be seventeen, sixteen and fourteen, but the skill and luck separating first and third is a lot.