Front Page

Content

Authors

Game Index

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

You May Also Like...

D
DavidNorris
September 16, 2021

Quick, Simple Fun: High Society

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
September 10, 2021

Karuba Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
D
DavidNorris
September 09, 2021
A
adamr
September 08, 2021

Mariposas - a Punchboard Review

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
September 03, 2021

Earthenwar Review

Board Game Reviews
MB
Michael Barnes
August 30, 2021
Hot

The Ascent of Descent - Review

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
August 27, 2021

March on the Drina Review

Board Game Reviews
D
DavidNorris
August 26, 2021

Red Rising, Red Falling

Board Game Reviews
A
adamr
August 25, 2021
O
oliverkinne
August 20, 2021

15 Days Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
MB
Michael Barnes
August 19, 2021
D
DavidNorris
August 19, 2021
O
oliverkinne
August 18, 2021
MT
Matt Thrower
August 12, 2021

Play Matt: Bullet♥︎ Review

Board Game Reviews
D
DavidNorris
August 12, 2021
O
oliverkinne
August 06, 2021

Animal Alliance

Board Game Reviews

Mysterium Park Breathes New Life into a Modern Classic

D Updated September 02, 2021
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
743 0
Mysterium Park Breathes New Life into a Modern Classic

Game Information

Publisher
Players
2 - 6
There Will Be Games

A new twist on an modern classic.

So you've been murdered... again

Mysterium Park is an asymmetrical cooperative board game. Following in the footsteps of it's predecessor Mysterium, you've been horrifically murdered, again. And while you wail around in the afterlife trying to exact revenge on your killer, the rest of the table makes a light-hearted game out of it.

This should sound familiar, however, a lot has changed.

For example, set up is no longer a labour intensive card matching exercise. Instead, you now dump down a selection of 9 suspect cards, pick up the secret codex card and you're ready to start haunting. The codex card tells you which player needs to guess which card.

If you've ever played Codenames, you'll be familiar.

From there, you give each player a number of vision cards. They then need to put their psychic powers to work, and have a guess at what you're trying to tell them. To move to the second round, where the psychics will narrow down where you were murdered, all of them need to correctly guess their suspect. Otherwise, they're stuck hunting down the culprit as the round tracker moves closer and closer to the end.

After another successful séance on the locations it's on to the final guess. Get that right, and the table wins!

You're still dead though.

Playing as the ghost in Mysterium Park, all the psychic investigators have missed their guess.

Mysterium vs Mysterium Park

Smaller, better and more streamlined should be the headline here.

Mysterium Park removes a lot of the issues stopping Mysterium from getting to the table. Namely the setup. But also the awful second guessing mechanic. Moving the psychic's focus from being a tad antagonistic, to full on cooperation.

It's also more difficult.

Not only because there are now more suspects and locations to guess each round. But also because of the pictures used. In Mysterium it feels like they gave the artist carte blanche to draw whatever they wanted. This time around, they've put thought into how pictures affect gameplay. A good example of this, is one character who's most prominent feature is a white painted face. However, there's another character with a white Santa Claus beard, and another who's skin is the colour of porcelain. As the ghost, you can no longer get away with simple clues such as white card, white face. Instead you need to connect with the meaning and theme behind the cards.

This difficulty in differentiation was a point of frustration for some in our group, but I thought it was fantastic. It pushes you to get creative as the ghost. Which is where the magic happens in these picture association games. It's all well and good to look at a red card and agree it's red, it's something else entirely to connect with someone on that abstract level.

With all this streamlining, you lose Mysterium's thematic edge. The longer play time, the ghost player behind the screen, and the overall slower pace of the original, all feed into the theme and spookiness of Mysterium. Making it prime for the Halloween season and candlelit board gaming. Whereas Mysterium Park trades this post-death experience for a smaller playtime and family fun.

With it being a shorter experience, you're able to play it a few times in the same amount of time you'd play one game of the original. Allowing you to swap ghosts quicker so everyone can experience the highs and lows of living life as a ghost.

The vision cards from Mysterium park making a circle around the box.

The game I didn't know I wanted

There hasn't been a lot of press around Mysterium Park, in fact if I wasn't such a fan and didn't dig into the comments on Board Game Geek I probably wouldn't have picked it up.

And what a shame that would have been.

Mysterium Park has reinvigorated my love for this series. Taking all the things I loved about the original game and distilling it into a portable, 20-30minute, fun family game. What I didn't realise sooner, and what I hope I impressed upon you in this review, is this is no longer the same game. It is more of a filler game than one to plan a night around. Which is exactly the change Mysterium needed. As while I'll miss Halloween night feel, there is nothing stopping me from pulling this one off the shelf again and again.

Well, maybe one thing.

If there's one downside to Mysterium Park I've yet to mention, it's the lack of content. The original had two expansions to flesh everything out, and give you more options than you'll ever need. Mysterium Park doesn't need to go to the same level, but it does need a bit extra, as I found after my 10th play or so, we were using the same or similar clues.

However, it's still my favourite way to play this awesome game, and I'm hoping at some point they release an official conversion kit for the original, and its' expansions.

Chester the corgi standing behind the Mysterium Park box.

Thanks for reading. Visit Roll to Review, where I'm ranking all games I review.


Editor reviews

1 reviews

Rating 
 
4.0
Mysterium Park
While the gloominess of the original game is missing, the streamlined gameplay more than makes up for it.
D
David Norris  (He/Him)
Associate Writer

David Norris is a board game reviewer from Brisbane, Australia. When he’s not writing reviews, he’s usually playing board games or reading rules. And when he’s not doing that, he’s goofing around with Steph, his loving wife, toddler son, Jay and Chester the Corgi.

You can find more of his work at Roll to Review, a one man blog that pumps out fortnightly board game reviews.

Articles by David Norris

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Log in to comment