Front Page

Content

Board Games

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

You May Also Like...

MT
Matt Thrower
July 13, 2020
O
oliverkinne
July 10, 2020
MB
Michael Barnes
July 09, 2020
AL
Andi Lennon
July 09, 2020
O
oliverkinne
July 03, 2020
MB
Michael Barnes
July 02, 2020

Pan Am Flies High - Review

Board Game Reviews
AL
Andi Lennon
July 02, 2020
W
WadeMonnig
July 01, 2020
MT
Matt Thrower
June 29, 2020
O
oliverkinne
June 26, 2020

Quadropolis Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
T
thegiantbrain
June 25, 2020

Oceans Board Game - Review

Board Game Reviews
W
WadeMonnig
June 24, 2020
O
oliverkinne
June 19, 2020
MB
Michael Barnes
June 18, 2020
T
thegiantbrain
June 18, 2020

Prisma Arena - First Thoughts

Board Game Reviews
MT
Matt Thrower
June 15, 2020

Godzilla: Tokyo Clash Crushes It - Review

MB Updated June 25, 2020
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1800 0
Godzilla: Tokyo Clash Crushes It - Review

Game Information

Publisher
Players
2 - 4
There Will Be Games

One of the worst board games I’ve ever played was a Godzilla game- the late Richard Berg’s Godzilla: Kaiju World Wars was a tremendous misfire executed by a designer who pretty clearly just didn’t really understand what the Kaiju thing was all about and also didn’t bother to turn in a complete, coherent set of rules to the publisher prior to printing. Apparently a complete overhaul of the rules was eventually released but I just went back to off-brand offerings like Avalon Hill’s classic Monsters Menace America and Garfield’s oddly everlasting King of Tokyo to get my kaiju kicks. 

Now, as a lifelong Godzilla fan, I must admit that I am particularly demanding about what I want out of a game set among Toho’s fabled stable of rubbery rompers.  But it also ain’t hard to meet my rider. There’s got to be a good roster of monsters, tanks, stupid lightning cannons that don’t’really do anything, massive property damage, and for bonus points, Xiliens. Prospero Hall’s new joint issued in partnership with Funko Games, Godzilla: Tokyo Clash, meets my demands. It’s a fun, obnoxious B-list game that doesn’t sport a terribly sophisticated set of mechanisms but makes up for its fairly ho-hum wrasslin’ match format with Godzilla throwing Mothra into a skyscraper , jets screaming in to tickle King Ghidorah with barely effective missiles, and Megalon busting up out of the ground and levelling the block  And as if the bonus for the Xiliens wasn’t enough, they also put a Jet Jaguar cameo in there. This is a game made by Godzilla fans, for Godzilla fans and the love shows through.

Table presence is awesome- this is a wonderful production presented at a very respectful and reasonable $35 retail. You get four big, chunky figures and some fun plastic buildings – it’s a shame that the vehicles and small buildings are just meager tokens, really printed too dark for legibility, but there again - $35 retail. The graphic design incorporates untranslated Japanese typography, which nicely honors the cultural origins of the kaiju phenomenon. The illustrations are all lovely- painterly images rather than photos. With the city tiles laid out and everything in place, it’s the kind of game that screams fun in your face, which is really kind of rude, so it’s a good thing it delivers on its promise.

It’s a straight-up, card-driven brawl. It doesn’t really feel skirmish-y, as each player just has one figure. Turns are just playing a card and doing whatever it says – move, attack, special actions. Everything requires energy, which you have to gain by wrecking buildings or vehicles. I’m always worried about these low model count brawlers, that they’ll turn into players sitting in the middle of the board and pummeling each other, but having to back off to eat some buildings solves this problem. The larger buildings also give a bonus, such as pulling a card from discard or looking at another player’s top card. The small buildings, each of which is worth 2 energy, also key to the game’s timer. If the Oxygen Destroyer marker ever crosses the number of small buildings placed on the timeline, it’s instantly over.

I especially like how the damage works in the game – it’s  a “cards as health” mechanism. When you damage a Kaiju, its player might have a defense card in hand to play. Any unblocked damage translates to drawing cards off the top of the damaged Kaiju’s deck. The cards all have a Dominance value of 0-3, the attacker gets to keep the highest value card drawn as a Trophy – and that means points at the end of the game. So the more damage that isn’t soaked, the more cards you draw and the better your chances are of getting one of the higher value cards. The winner is the Kaiju who has the highest value of Dominance at the end of the game.

I also really like how events are incorporated into the design. Each game, you pick two big event cards and these represent the non-player elements. This is where the Xiliens show up, zipping around in their UFO and zapping cards out of players’ hands, at least until somebody decides to throw their ship into a power plant. There also tanks that move around and attack everybody but Mothra, trains that move along rails, ships, and jets. None of these make a huge impact on the game, but they are fun and that is what this game prioritizes over anything else. 

And that means that this all plays out pretty much exactly how you would want it to with plenty of delightful touches. There are rules for throwing vehicles, throwing Kaiju, and throwing vehicles at Kaiju. King Ghidorah can charge up his heads and unleash a horrifying Barrage attack. Mothra can die and be reborn as a larva. Godzilla can even do that awful victory dance. This is all great fun. Monsters are never KO’d, they just beat the tar out of each other until the off-board humans get their act together and drop the Oxygen Destroyer, and it takes about 45 minutes for that to happen.

I like this timeframe for this kind of game, with less players this goes down by half. But I’m not convinced that this a game worth playing with less than a full four players; I think you need all four monsters on the board for the natural push-and-pull of it to work without the old “let’s you and him fight” problem of the three player match or the single target of the two player game.  I’m also sort of iffy on the dramatic arc of the design, as it all kind of occurs along a fairly flat curve which can descend into blow-trading predictability, despite the best efforts of those event cards to shake things up.  It doesn’t quite have the intense, fighting game-style depth or mind games that Unmatched, a game of similar format and scope, does and that can make the game feel somewhat thin in comparison.  

But you know what, I don’t watch Godzilla versus Monster Zero or whatever for sophisticated, cerebral drama - I watch them for the moments that this game captures and puts onto the table. The focus here is in the giddy excitement of big, dumb monsters lumbering around and squaring off in the downtown area, and the design is focused squarely on this aspect.  I find that when I start to feel critical about the design or the fact that there are other games in this design space that are ostensibly “better”, my inner child smirks at me and says “really, dude?”


Editor reviews

1 reviews

Rating 
 
4.0
Just plain fun with great production and lots of kaiju love.
MB
Top 10 Reviewer 69 reviews
Michael Barnes (He/Him)
Senior Board Game Reviews Editor

Sometime in the early 1980s, MichaelBarnes’ parents thought it would be a good idea to buy him a board game to keep him busy with some friends during one of those high-pressure, “free” timeshare vacations. It turned out to be a terrible idea, because the game was TSR’s Dungeon! - and the rest, as they say, is history. Michael has been involved with writing professionally about games since 2002, when he busked for store credit writing for Boulder Games’ newsletter. He has written for a number of international hobby gaming periodicals and popular Web sites. From 2004-2008, he was the co-owner of Atlanta Game Factory, a brick-and-mortar retail store. He is currently the co-founder of FortressAT.com and Nohighscores.com as well as the Editor-in-Chief of Miniature Market’s Review Corner feature. He is married with two childen and when he’s not playing some kind of game he enjoys stockpiling trivial information about music, comics and film.

Articles by Michael

Michael Barnes
Senior Board Game Reviews Editor

Articles by Michael

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Log in to comment

ubarose's Avatar
ubarose replied the topic: #311383 25 Jun 2020 16:44
I really want to play this. And I really want to play it with Josh Look. Damn this stupid killer virus.
ChristopherMD's Avatar
ChristopherMD replied the topic: #311384 25 Jun 2020 17:01
You had me at Jet Jaguar.
Andi Lennon's Avatar
Andi Lennon replied the topic: #311386 25 Jun 2020 19:39
Oh man, I've just convinced myself I need Unmatched:Cobble & Fog, and now this....

This will tie in well with a running joke my friends and I have about Mothra just constantly waiting by the phone for his agent to call.

"Jerry you're killing me here.. I have larvae to feed..."
ubarose's Avatar
ubarose replied the topic: #311392 25 Jun 2020 20:50
Mothra just constantly waiting by the phone for her agent to call.

Mothra’s Queen of the Monsters.
Sagrilarus's Avatar
Sagrilarus replied the topic: #311393 25 Jun 2020 21:47

also didn’t bother to turn in a complete, coherent set of rules to the publisher prior to printing.


From Richard Berg? No!
Andi Lennon's Avatar
Andi Lennon replied the topic: #311394 25 Jun 2020 22:17

ubarose wrote: Mothra just constantly waiting by the phone for her agent to call.

Mothra’s Queen of the Monsters.


Of course! I'm an idiot.
Josh Look's Avatar
Josh Look replied the topic: #311439 27 Jun 2020 17:08
I just played it and I don’t want to jump to conclusions but I think I’m pretty disappointed.

At the very least, I think there are some caveats to how you play it that, of course, make enjoying it something of a trial by fire. I’m not sure if it’s really a 2 player game, which IS essential criteria for a Kaiju game for me. I like the concept of the King of the Monsters token, but in practice it’s kind of a rich get richer thing. In a 2 player game it’s damn near impossible for it to change hands by the end of the round. If you do play 2 player, Mothra makes the game extremely boring and SLOW. In fact, I think there might be enough unbalanced bullshit with Mothra that I’m not sure I’d want her in anything other than a 4 player game. And while I also love how damage works, it does lead to having fewer options as the game winds down, and even with a 45 minute playtime, I’m never a fan of that.

Everything Michael praises is spot on though. It is a remarkably intelligent game and is not a big dumb monster brawl, which as some of you know is the same case in my Kaiju game, but the depth makes the missteps all the more frustrating.

I’ll definitely play again, there’s a lot I do like, but my first play was kind of a frustrating mess.